Scientific Program Committee - Michel Sabourin

M. Sabourin Since 1970, Michel Sabourin is professor of psychology at the University of Montreal; from 2004 to 2008, he was Head of the Department and member of the Executive Committee of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. As an applied social psychologist, his main research interests deal actually with credibility assessment in a cross-cultural context, the effects of the media on the victims of crime, and the psychology of the vexatious litigant. He has pioneered in the province of Quebec the development of a new area of research and practice, legal psychology. He is regularly called upon by the Canadian and American courts as an expert witness and he has recently acted as special consultant to the Chief Justice of the Quebec Superior Court and will be conducting training sessions for the National Judicial Institute on the early identification and management of the vexatious litigant. Professor Sabourin has recently (2010) been appointed Chair of the Scientific Committee of the “Institut Philippe-Pinel de Montréal”, a major forensic psychiatry hospital affiliated with the University of Montreal. Professor Sabourin has twice been elected President of the College of Psychologists of Quebec (1982-85, 1992-94) ; he was also elected President of the Canadian Psychological Association in 1989 and was previously (from 1983 to 1987), Executive Secretary for Canada and the USA of the Interamerican Society of Psychology. From 1988 to 1992, he was Editor of the International Journal of Psychology and since 1993, he is Treasurer and member of the Executive Committee of the International Union of Psychological Science (IUPsyS). Appointed delegate of IUPsyS to the General Assembly of the ICSU Committee on the Use of Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) since 1997, he was elected member of its Executive Committee in November 2004 and re-elected to this position in 2006 ; in 2008, he was elected Treasurer for a four-year term. Member of the Canadian National Research Council Committee for CODATA since 2001, he was appointed Chair from 2003 to 2008. He was also a member of the Editorial Board of the Data Science Journal from 2001 to 2008. In 2008, he was elected Ordinary Member of the Executive Committee of the International Social Science Council (ISSC) for a two-year term, and in 2010, he was elected Vice-president Finance (Treasurer) of ISSC for a three-year term. Professor Sabourin is the recipient of numerous and prestigious national and international awards, including the 2006 Outstanding International Psychologist Award of the American Psychological Association Division of International Psychology, the first Canadian Psychological Association (CPA) Award for Distinguished Contributions to the International Advancement of Psychology in 2000, as well as the 2006 Canadian Psychological Association (CPA) Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychology as a Profession. In 2007, he was given the Noël-Mailloux 2007 Lifetime Award by the Quebec College of Psychologists for his outstanding lifetime contributions to the discipline of psychology. Professor Sabourin is the author or co-author of more than 70 published scientific contributions (books, book chapters and articles in peer-reviewed journals) in different areas of the discipline of psychology.